About IALA


The Council is the governing body of IALA, comprising 21 elected and three non-elected Councillors. The Council is elected by IALA National Members during a General Assembly and meets twice a year. At the last General Assembly, in Incheon (Republic of Korea) in May 2018, a new council was elected. A list of the current Councillors appears below:

Council Members

Korea (Republic of)Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries (President)
BrazilCentro de Sinalizaçáo Náutica e Reparos (Vice President)
EnglandTrinity House Lighthouse Service (Treasurer)
AustraliaAustralian Maritime Safety Authority (Member)
SpainPuertos del Estado (Member)
ChileArmada de Chile, Directemar (Member)
ChinaMaritime Safety Administration (Member)
DenmarkDanish Maritime Authority (Member)
FinlandFinnish Transport Agency (Member)
FranceDirection des Affaires Maritimes – DAM (Member)
GermanyWasser-Und Schiffahrtsdiektionen (Member)
IndiaDirectorate General of Lighthouses and Lightships (Member)
SingaporeMaritime and Port Authority (Member)
ItalyItalian Coast Guard (Member)
JapanJapan Coast Guard (Member)
South AfricaTransnet National Ports Authority (Member)
MalaysiaLight Dues Board Peninsular Malaysia (Member)
NetherlandsMinistry of Infrastructure and the Environment (Member)
NorwayNorwegian Coastal Administration (Member)
MoroccoDirection des ports et du domaine public maritime (Member)
CanadaCanadian Coast Guard (Member)
SwedenSwedish Maritime Administration (Member)
TurkeyDirectorate General of Coastal Safety – DGCS (Member)
USAThe U.S. Coast Guard (Member)